Poem #1

Since this is the beginning of my quest, I decided to stick with the theme of beginnings. And so, for my very first poem, I give you, Beginnings.  (Do you sense a pattern here?)

 

Beginnings

This is the genesis,
A vast, calming darkness
Floating above nothing
Ageless, waiting.

The inception,
Thoughts wiggling
To the surface
New, unformed, unwritten.

The origin,
Wellspring, pure, bubbling
Unadulterated source
Creative and nurturing.

Pioneers searching
For the promise of
New life, new wisdom
Illumination.

 

So basically, what I did was get out the old thesaurus, find the different words for “beginning” and pick out a few that caught my imagination. Then I tried to describe what they made me think of in the context of starting this new project.

What I wasn’t able to convey is the delicious anticipation of being on the edge of beginning something, something that promises to be exciting and interesting. Of course this feeling can be somewhat fleeting and easily shoved aside by fear, fear of failure, fear of not living up to expectations, usually my own.  And there can be sadness too.  The sadness of knowing that once you begin, some possibilities will be closed.

Anyway, I guess that’s enough about beginnings.  I got the first poem under my belt and it’s time to start thinking about the next one.  Maybe I could do one about “do overs?”

 

 

This entry was posted in Poems and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poem #1

  1. I really liked this. After reading it this morning, I spent a lot of time thinking about your challenge. Though poems have fewer words than stories or novels, that brevity is often more difficult to create. You’ve done a great job here. I can’t wait to see more.

    Like

    • donna casey says:

      Thank you! One thing I think is easier about poems is that even once I pick a theme, I can change the way I approach it fairly quickly and often. It’s harder to do that with a short story or a novel because you have to invest more time and effort in pursuing it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

