Poem #4

Well I have come to week four of my challenge and it has happened. I knew it would eventually, but  I didn’t realize it would be so soon. The inspiration and excitement of starting something new and all my “easy” ideas have run out. Now the real work begins.  This is why I picked this particular challenge. Now if I am to meet this challenge, I must act like a serious writer.

In almost every book on writing, or in the advice of every successful writer: You must write regularly, preferably at the same time every day. Even if you don’t put anything on paper, you must sit and think about it. I like the way Mary Oliver explains it in her book, A Poetry Handbook

 “The part of the psyche that works in concert with consciousness and supplies a necessary part of the poem—the heat of a star as opposed to the shape of a star, let us say—exists in a mysterious, unmapped zone: not unconscious, not subconscious, but cautious.  It learns quickly what sort of courtship it is going to be.  Say you promise to be at your desk in the evenings, from seven to nine.  It waits, it watches.  If you are reliably there, it begins to show itself—soon it begins to arrive when you do.  But if you are only there sometimes and are frequently late or inattentive, it will appear fleetingly, or it will not appear at all.”

I tend to write at odd moments, when I have 20 or 30 minutes or maybe even not that long. I procrastinate. I put it off until the last minute.  While sometimes that may feel kind of exhilarating, in a fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants way (you pantsers out there know what I’m talking about) it tends to desert me quickly.  I love the excitement of Nano, the camaraderie of the participants, the support and the write-ins, but I haven’t been able to maintain all that for the full 30 days yet.

I think I need to develop that careful part of the psyche that seemingly comes out of nowhere. So I will try to carve out a specific time to write. This may take awhile, so bear with me. Hopefully my poems won’t be too bad while I work on this.  Here’s to the hope that they won’t be any worse that this, my fulfillment of the challenge for this week:

Poem #4

There once was a woman from Jersey
Who wanted to cross the wide blue sea
She rowed and she rowed,
But the tide flowed and flowed.
‘Til she cried out, “Me oh my, woe is me!”

I know, I know. Sorry.

This entry was posted in Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Poem #4

  1. I always enjoy a good limerick. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mrakestraw says:

    Edward Lear made a nice living off poems like this one.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. dianalmarsh says:

    I was going to say the same thing Craig did. Limericks are such a dying art-form.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

